June 21, 2017 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

LawCo. receives FEMA declaration

Lawrence County is one of several counties that received a federal disaster declaration on Thursday.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of Arkansas to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding beginning on April 26 and May 19.

The president's action makes federal funding available to assist individuals who were affected by the storms in Lawrence, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Faulkner, Fulton, Jackson, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Washington and Yell counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured or underinsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Chris Jones, Lawrence County Office of Emergency Management director, said residents should also be aware that anyone making visits with FEMA will have an official ID badge.

"We don't want anyone to be taken advantage of," he said.

Federal funding is also available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damage facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding in Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Faulkner, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Montgomery, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Poinsett, Prairie, Randolph, Saline, Washington, White and Woodruff counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Jerry S. Thomas is the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. He said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of damage assessments.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can apply for assistance by registering online at http://www.DisasterAssistance.gov or calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m., seven days a week until further notice.

When applying individuals should have the following information available: a phone number to be reached at, social security number, current mailing address, address of affected property, brief description of damage and insurance information including policy number.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2018 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476