September 21, 2016 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

School board races decided

Voters in three school districts in Lawrence County cast ballots in early voting and at the polls on Tuesday to elect school board members.

Jeff Worlow was elected to serve the Hoxie School District, Brittany Schmidt was elected to the Lawrence County School Board and Aaron Murphy won the election for the Sloan-Hendrix position.

Results in the Hoxie vote were: Jeff Worlow (incumbent), 165 votes (64 percent); Dennis Coggins, 57 votes (22 percent); and Sherry Moore, 36 votes (14 percent).

Lawrence County School District results are: Brittany Schmidt, 229 votes (50.2 percent); and John Householder (incumbent), 227 votes (49.8 percent).

Results for Sloan-Hendrix are: Aaron Murphy (incumbent), 104 votes (83 percent); and John "Greg" Starnes, 22 votes (17 percent).

In addition, Ricky Benson filed to complete an unexpired term for the Sloan-Hendrix seat he has held as an appointee since Chris Jones resigned in 2015. He was the only candidate for that seat.

Hillcrest School District conducted its election through early voting only because there was not a race and no change in millage. Phillip L. Penn was the only candidate for the board. Incumbent Roger Helms chose not to seek reelection.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2018 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476