March 2, 2016 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

Judge, sheriff races
decided in primary

Lawrence County races for county judge and sheriff were decided in Tuesday's Primary Election.

Dale Freeman was re-elected county judge, receiving 1,245 votes (57 percent) to defeat John Thomison, who received 953 votes (43 percent).

In the race for sheriff, Jeff Yates was re-elected with 1,635 votes (75 percent). Richy Thatcher received 557 votes (25 percent).

There were no Republican candidates for these offices.

Those elected to county offices without opposition include: county clerk, Tina Stowers: circuit clerk, Michelle Evans; treasurer, Marilyn Crafton; collector, Stephanie Harris; assessor, Becky Holder; and coroner, Robert Chris Warden.

District Judge Adam Weeks was also unopposed in his bid for re-election in the non-partisan judicial election, which was also on Tuesday's ballot.

Five justice of the peace districts had races on the Democratic primary ballot. Results are as follows:

District 1 - Buddy Williams, 134 (53 percent); Glenn Smith 119 (47 percent). Williams will face William “Bill” Powell, Independent, in the November election.

District 4 - Heath Davis, 115 (40 percent); Incumbent Douglas Wayland, 108 (38 percent); Rose Ehrhardt, 64 (22 percent). There will be a runoff election between Davis and Wayland.

District 5 - Incumbent Ernest (Junior) Briner, 148 (56 percent); Farrah Matthews, 117 (44 percent). Briner will face Jeff Taylor, Republican, in November.

District 6 - Ronald Ingram, 170 (67 percent); Incumbent Nathan Crafton, 84 (33 percent).

District 9 - Incumbent Alex A. Latham, 180 (67 percent); Tim Allison, 88 (33 percent).

Other justice races that will be on the ballot in November include:

District 2 - Incumbent Donald Richey, Democrat; Franklin Brewer, Republican.

District 3 - Incumbent Lloyd W. Clark, Republican; Lewis Slaughter, Democrat.

District 7 - Incumbent Tracy Moore, Democrat; Blaine Davis, Republican.

Incumbent Kenny Jones, Democrat, won re-election to his seat for District 8 with no opposition.

The constable position for Campbell Township had a race on the Democratic ballot. Results are Wendell S. Jones, 409 (53 percent); Incumbent Kenneth Fears, 356 (47 percent).

Constable for Black Rock Township will be decided in November between Incumbent Bryan Smith, Republican; and Lewis Slaughter, Democrat.

Most constables were elected without opposition. They include:

Black River Township, Incumbent Jimmy Smith, Democrat.

Boas Township, Incumbent Charlie Cook, Democrat.

Cache Township, Incumbent Ronnie Knight, Independent.

Dent Township, Timothy P. McComas, Democrat.

Duty Township, Jim King, Independent.

Marion Township, Joshua Light, Democrat.

Reed's Creek Township, Hunter Durham, Republican.

Incumbant James Ratliff of Imboden, Democrat, and Frances Cavenaugh of Walnut Ridge, Republican, were both unopposed on their parties' primary ballots. They will face off in November for state representative for District 60.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2018 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476