February 24, 2016 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

Primary is Tuesday

The Arkansas Preferential Primary is Tuesday, and Lawrence County voters can go the polls from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Early voting is also underway in the County Clerk's Office, located in the Lawrence County Courthouse in Walnut Ridge.

Extended hours will be offered for early voting, with the County Clerk's Office open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. on weekdays. Saturday voting will also be available from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Early voting will end at 5 p.m. on Monday.

A 2014 bill approved by the Arkansas legislature moved the state's 2016 Preferential Primary and Nonpartisan Election from mid-May to March 1.

Arkansas is one of approximately 12 states holding its primary on that day, which is being referred to as Super Tuesday.

Arkansas is one of several southern states that moved up its 2016 primary in order to give voters more influence in selecting the presidential candidates for the November 2016 General Election.


Lawrence County has several races on the ballot in the Democratic primary, including county judge and sheriff, five justice of the peace positions and one constable position.

For county judge, incumbent Dale Freeman will face challenger John Thomison, and for sheriff, incumbent Jeff Yates will face Richy Thatcher. With no Republican candidates, the primary will determine the winner of these offices.

Those seeking Democratic nominations for justice of the peace are:

District 1, Buddy Williams and Glenn Smith. The winner will face William "Bill" Powell, Independent, in November.

District 5, Incumbent Ernest (Junior) Briner and Farrah Matthews. The winner will face Jeff Taylor, Republican, in November.

District 4, Incumbent Douglas Wayland, Rose Ehrhardt and Heath Davis.

District 6, Incumbent Nathan Crafton and Ronald Ingram.

District 9, Incumbent Alex A. Latham and Tim Allison.

There are no other candidates in District 4, 6 or 9, so the primary will determine these seats.

There is also a Democratic race for constable between incumbent Kenneth Fears and Wendell S. Jones. There are no other candidates, so the primary will determine the winner.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2018 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476