May 27, 2015 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

Tyler Andrews (from left) and Allyson McQuay are recipients of the W.R. Glenn Award, one of the top athletic awards given at WRHS. The award, named after the late W.R. Glenn, coach and educator, recognizes student achievement, leadership, athletic ability, dependability and honesty. Larry Treadway, athletic director, made the presentation.

WRHS honors Bobcat athletes

Walnut Ridge School's Athletic Banquet was held May 18 in Van Ellis Cafetorium. Coaches shared highlights of each team's season and recognized the following athletes with individual awards:

W.R. Glenn Award

Allyson McQuay and Tyler Andrews.


Most Improved, Sierra Corona; Most Spirited, Chloe Rice; Miss Bobcat, Haley Osburn; All-American nominees, Haley Osburn Chloe Rice, Malia Friend, Morgan Smith, Lane Robertson, Kelly Lee, Carlie Phillips, Jayden Moody.


Outstanding Male Player, Luke Wall; Outstanding Female Player, Madison Cox.


Jr. High All-Conference, Baylee Haskins, Laurel Gaither, Madison Mullen; All-Conference Honorable Mention, Briley Henson, Olivia Cox, Anna Wilcoxson; NEA Blazer Blast All-Tournament Team, Baylee Haskins, Laurel Gaither, Anna Wilcoxson; Brookland Invitational All-Tournament Team, Madison Mullen; Sr. High All-Conference, Baylee Burris, Cirstin Lee, Lane Robertson, Sunnie Cunningham, Alyssa Leatherman; All-Conference Honorable Mention, Emma Rice, Stephann Petty; All-State, Baylee Burris, Lane Robertson, Sunnie Cunningham, Alyssa Leatherman; All-State Honorable Mention, Cirstin Lee; All-State All-Tournament Team, Lane Robertson and Sunnie Cunningham; The Jonesboro Sun's Best Under the Sun Volleyball Newcomer of the Year and All-Cave City Tournament Team, Lane Robertson; Queen of the Hardwood participant, Stephann Petty; Serving Leader, Cirstin Lee; Defensive Leader, Cirstin Lee; Offensive Leader, Baylee Burris; Most Assists, Lane Robertson; Most Valuable Player (MVP), Lane Robertson; Most Serving Aces, Alyssa Leatherman; Blocking Award, Stephann Petty; Miss Bobcat, Sunnie Cunningham.


All-Conference, Tyler Fry, Tyler Andrews, Martin Crisler, Luke Harper; Outstanding Defensive Lineman, Tyler Binkley; Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Tyler Fry; Outstanding Running Back, Luke Harper; Outstanding Defensive Back, Kyle Nunley; MVP, Tyler Andrews; Mr. Bobcat, Martin Crisler; Brandon Burlsworth Award, Justin Hand.

Hooten's Arkansas Air National Guard Scholar Athlete of the Week, Tyler Andrews.

Girls Basketball

Jr. High All-Conference, Megan Jared; Sr. High All-Conference, Allyson McQuay, All-Conference Honorable Mention, Brianna Nunley; Best Under The Sun Classic and North Arkansas All-Star Classic player, Allyson McQuay; Best Offensive Player, Allyson McQuay; Best Defensive Player, Brianna Nunley; Outstanding Rebounding Award, Sunnie Cunningham; Most Improved Award, Whitney Rider; Miss Bobcat, Baylee Burris; MVP, Allyson McQuay; Chelsey Linebaugh Award, Courtney Cox.

Boys Basketball

Jr. High All-Conference, Wesley Friend, Drew Flippo, Tristan Hoffman; Sr. High All-Conference, Martin Crisler, Spencer Wilson, Kenzie Flippo; All-State, Kenzie Flippo; All-State Honorable Mention, Spencer Wilson; All-Region, Martin Crisler; Most Assists, Martin Crisler; Best Free Throw Percentage, Luke Wall; Most Steals, Kyle Nunley; Best Defensive Player, Spencer Wilson; Best Offensive Player, Kenzie Flippo; Most Rebounds, Spencer Wilson; MVP, Kenzie Flippo; Mr. Bobcat, Martin Crisler.


All-Conference, Baylee Burris, Maggie Jackson, Whitney Rider, Baylee Haskins; Outstanding Offensive Player, Baylee Burris; Outstanding Defensive Player, Baylee Haskins; Most Improved Award, Whitney Rider; MVP, Baylee Haskins; Miss Bobcat, D'Anna Girard.


First place finishers in conference, named All-Conference and qualifiers for State: Kenzie Flippo, Spencer Wilson, Tyler Binkley, Kyle Smith, Isaac Sosbe, Kelly Lee, Cirstin Lee, Olivia Cox, Madison Cox, Sunnie Cunningham, Emma Rice and Brianna Nunley; Conference High Point Award, Sunnie Cunningham; Outstanding Male Runner, Tyler Binkley; Outstanding Male Field Event, Kyle Smith; Outstanding Female Runner, Madison Cox; Outstanding Female Field Event, Sunnie Cunningham.


All-Conference, Cash Lee, Layne Ditto, Lane Kennedy, Will Weir, Luke Wall, Drake Smelser, Drake Smith; All-State, Layne Ditto, Will Weir; Outstanding Offensive Player, Will Weir; Outstanding Defensive Player, Cash Lee; Outstanding Pitcher, Layne Ditto; MVP, Layne Ditto; Mr. Bobcat, Lane Kennedy; “For the Love of the Game” Richard Manning Award, Layne Ditto.

Booster Club

Members of the Bobcat Booster Club also recognized each of the graduating senior athletes.

Coaches for the Bobcats and those assisting with presentations were: Cheerleading, Mary Smith, Tracy Hallman and Natalie Wallin; Tennis, Darrell Crisler; Volleyball, Janna Berry and Shane Duncan; Football, Larry Treadway and Joe Fisher; Girls Basketball, Steve Atkisson, Joe Fisher; Boys Basketball, Darrell Crisler, Shane Duncan; Softball, Payton Edmondson, Shane Duncan; Track, Larry Treadway, Janna Berry; and Baseball, Derek Bramlett, Jason Ward.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2018 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476