March 5, 2014 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

Races develop for judge, sheriff

Gretchen Hunt

The filing period for the May 20 Primary Election closed on Monday with Democratic races set for county judge, sheriff and two justice of the peace positions.

Incumbent Dale Freeman and John Thomison have both filed for the county judge position, and Jeff Yates and Joseph Allen Warnick have both filed for sheriff.

Justice of the peace races in the Democratic primary will be between incumbent Donald Richey and Coty Powers for position 2 and incumbent Alex A. Latham and Kendell Snedeker for position 9.

Filings also provide for four races to take place in November. Republican Blake Johnson has filed against State Sen. Robert Thompson, who is a Democrat, and Republican Blaine Davis has filed against State Rep. James Ratliff, who is seeking reelection as a Democrat.

In addition, Republican Franklin Brewer filed for justice of the peace position 2 and will face the winner of the election between Richey and Powers. Democrat Jason Bristow and Republican Richard C. Randolph have both filed for constable of Reed's Creek Township.

No races in judicial election

Monday was also the deadline to file in the non-partisan judicial election, and all positions are uncontested.

Filings are as follows: circuit judge division 1, Harold S. Erwin; circuit judge division 2, Phil Smith; circuit judge division 3, Kevin N. King; district judge, Adam G. Weeks; and prosecuting attorney, Henry Boyce.

Other filings

Others filing for county offices as Democrats are uncontested and include: assessor, Farrah Matthews; tax collector, Stephanie A. Harris; treasurer, Marilyn Crafton; county clerk, Tina Stowers; circuit clerk, Michelle Evans; and coroner, Robert Chris Warden.

Uncontested justice of the peace filings include: Jim Jones (D), position 1; Lloyd Clark (R), position 3; Douglas Wayland (D), position 4; Ernest "Junior" Briner (D), position 5; Gerald Nathan Crafton (D), position 6; Tracy Moore (D), position 7; and Kenny Jones (D), position 8.

Those filing for constable without an opponent are as follows: Black Rock Township, Bryan Smith (R); Morgan Township, Andrew Turner (D); Boas Township, Charles E. Cook (D); Cache Township, Ronnie Clay Knight (I); Campbell Township, Kenneth Fears (D); Black River Township, Jimmy D. Smith (D); Thacker Township, Timothy P. McComas (D); and Dent Township, Clayton A. Williams (D).

Committee member and delegate filings for the Democratic party are: John Thomison and Coty Powers.

Committee member filings for the Republican party are: Lloyd W. Clark, Barbara L. Clark, Richard C. Randolph and Chad Moseley.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2017 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476