March 7, 2012 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

Filing period ends,
races are minimal

The filing period for the May 22 Primary Election ended Thursday with only one local race developing in the Democratic primary and no races set in the Republican primary.

Incumbent Jim Jones will face Glen Smith in a race for the office of justice of the peace for District 1.

Also appearing on the May ballots will be a non-partisan judicial race for Lawrence County district judge. Incumbent Judge Larry Hayes and Clay Sloan have both filed for the office.

Races set for November

Three local races have developed for the November General Election.

Sheriff Jody Dotson (Democrat) will face Ezra Pierce (Independent) for that office.

Filing for justice of the peace for District 3 are incumbent Jeff Reese (Democrat) and Lloyd Clark (Republican).

The final race is for constable of Black Rock Township between incumbent Bryan Smith (Republican) and Jewell "Tommy" Milgrim (Democrat).

Races also developed for both the state representative and state senator districts that include Lawrence County.

State Rep. James Ratliff (Democrat) will face Ronald Cavenaugh (Republican) for the office of state representative for District 60.

State Sen. Robert Thompson (Democrat) will face Blake Johnson (Republican).

Those filing for office without opposition are as follows:

Democratic filings

Assessor Farrah Matthews, County Clerk Tina Stowers, Tax Collector Stephanie Harris, Circuit Clerk Michelle Evans and County Judge Dale Freeman have filed for re-election.

In addition, Marilyn Crafton has filed for the county treasurer position, which current Treasurer Lyda Harris announced she would not seek again, and Robert Chris Warden has filed for the office of coroner. Everett Hart is the present coroner and did not file for re-election.

Justice of the peace filings include: Donald Richey, District 2; Douglas Wayland, District 4; Ernest "Junior" Briner, District 5; Nathan Crafton, District 6; Tracy Moore, District 7; Kenny Jones, District 8; and Alex A. Latham, District 9.

Constable filings are: Kenneth Fears, Campbell Township; Charlie Cook, Boas Township; Jimmy Dean Smith, Black River Township; Ezra Pierce, Promised Land Township; Coty Powers, Morgan Township; Joseph Warnick, Annieville Township.

Jeff Reese also filed for the Lawrence County Rural Water Board.

Filing for committeeman and delegate are: Alfred L. Whitmire, Patricia E. Whitmire and Rob Combs. Filing for committeeman are: Coty Powers, Judy M. Turnbull, Leland O. Turnbull, Boyce Dixon, Patsy Dixon and Ray Moseley.

Republican filings

Filing as Republicans to serve as committee member and delegate are: James H. Cline, Iona A. Cline, Kimberly Moseley, Chad Moseley, Loretta Corbett, Larry Corbett, Barbara Clark, Lloyd W. Clark.

Independent filings

Ronnie Clay Knight has filed as an independent for constable, Cache Township.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2018 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476