February 29, 2012 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

Filing for Primary underway

The filing period for the May 22 Primary Election is underway. At this time no races have developed for county positions.

Democratic filings

Assessor Farrah Matthews, County Clerk Tina Stowers, Tax Collector Stephanie Harris, Circuit Clerk Michelle Evans, Sheriff Jody Dotson and County Judge Dale Freeman have filed for re-election in the Democratic Primary.

In addition, Marilyn Crafton has filed for the county treasurer position, which current Treasurer Lyda Harris announced she would not seek again, and Robert Chris Warden has filed for the office of coroner.

Justice of the peace filings include: Jim Jones, District 1; Donald Richey, District 2; Jeff Reese, District 3; Douglas Wayland, District 4; Ernest "Junior" Briner, District 5; Nathan Crafton, District 6; Tracy Moore, District 7; Kenny Jones, District 8; and Alex A. Latham, District 9.

Constable filings are: Kenneth Fears, Campbell Township; Charlie Cook, Boas Township; and Jimmy Dean Smith, Black River Township.

Jeff Reese also filed for the Lawrence County Rural Water Board.

Republican filings

Filing for the Republican ballot are: Bryan Smith, constable, Black Rock Township; James H. Cline and Iona A. Cline, committee member and delegate.

Independent filings

Ronnie Clay Knight has filed as an independent for constable, Cache Township. He will appear on the General Election ballot in November.

Judicial filings

A race has developed for the position of Lawrence County District Judge. The judicial filing period, which is non-partisan, has already concluded.

Incumbent Judge Larry Hayes and Clay Sloan have both filed for the office.

State offices

Filing is also underway at the Secretary of State's office in Little Rock for state positions.

Of interest to Lawrence County voters will be the filings for State Representative District 60, Ronald Cavenaugh, Republican, and Rep. James Ratliff, Democrat; and for State Senator District 20, Sen. Robert Thompson.

Those voting in the May 22 election will have the choice of a non-partisan ballot, which will have only judicial races on it; a Republican ballot, which will include Republican races and judicial races; or a Democratic ballot, which will include Democratic races and judicial races.

Filing for the Primary Election will conclude Thursday at noon.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2017 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476