May 25, 2011 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

Hillcrest honors athletes

Hillcrest High School held its athletic banquet on May 10 honoring athletes for their performance during the 2010-11 school year.

Senior athletes and their parents were recognized. They include: Samantha Blevins, Cameron Vaulner, Billy Brannon, Trenton Neeley, Dylan Wooten, Kelsea Sneed and Trevor Morgan.

Those receiving awards for each sport are as follows:

Junior girls basketball

Rachel Crabtree, most improved; Caitlin Whitmire, best field goal percentage; Katelyn Richey, most steals, All-Conference; Natalie Glenn, most points, most three-point shots, All-Conference; Ashton Martin, hustle award.

Also, Stacy Maxwell, hustle award, most assists, defensive award, All-Conference; and Jessica Whitmire, most rebounds, best free-throw percentage and most blocks.

The team, coached by Matt Dean, finished the season with a 12-9 record.

Senior girls basketball

Sarah Saffell, most improved; Shae Durham, best free-throw percentage; Elizabeth Rush, best field-goal percentage; Morgan Penn, defensive award; Lindsey Crews, most assists, All-Conference; Kellie Beasley, most three-point shots.

Also, Mackenzie Nunnally, most rebounds, most blocks, All-Conference, All-WBC, All-Regional; Samantha Blevins, most points, most steals, hustle award, All-Conference, All-WBC, All-NEA.

The team, coached by Dean, finished with a 21-9 record and was conference and district runners-up.

Junior boys basketball

Evan Doyle, most rebounds, best field-goal percentage, All-Conference; Brad Nunnally, most blocked shots, All-Conference; Randall Scott, most improved; Cameron Durham, defensive award, All-Conference.

Also, Cody Brannon, hustle award; Colman Evans, most points, most assists, most three-point shots, most free throws, All-Conference.

The team, coached by Andy Durham, ended the season with a 17-4 record and was undefeated in conference play to earn the conference championship. They were also district champions and Lawrence County Tournament runners-up.

Senior boys basketball

Trenton Neeley, most improved; Zach Doyle, most steals; Ethan Holder, defensive award; Billy Brannon, most blocked shots; Hunter Nunnally, hustle award.

Also, Trevor Morgan, best field-goal percentage, best free-throw percentage; Dylan Wooten, most points, most assists, most rebounds, All-Conference.

The team, coached by Durham, finished with a 13-15 record and earned runners-up honors in the Lawrence County Tournament.


Lindsey Crews, Golden Glove Award, All-Conference; Kellie Beasley, Silver Slugger, All-Conference, All-Regional, All-State; Samantha Blevins, pitching award, All-Conference, All-Regional, All-State; Sarah Saffell, All-Conference.

The team, coached by Shawn Rose, won the championship in the Lawrence County Tournament, as well as runners-up honors for conference and district, and qualified for the state tournament.


Clint Durham, hustle award; Tyler Parker, Golden Glove Award, All-Conference, All-Regional; Zach Doyle, Golden Glove Award, All-Conference; Cray Howard, All-Conference;

Also, Billy Brannon, All-Conference; Trevor Morgan, All-Conference, All-Regional; Dylan Wooten, Silver Slugger, pitching, All-Conference, All-Regional, All-State.

The team, coached by Durham, completed the season with a 15-6 record. They were conference and district champions for the third consecutive year and finished as regional runners-up, qualifying for the state tournament.


Casey Huskey, Cray Howard, Dylan Wooten, Hannah Bratcher, Shae Durham and Lindsey Crews were recognized for golf participation. Male golfer of the year went to Wooten, and female golfer of the year went to Crews.

The team, coached by Danny Foley, finished 12th in the state in the Class A division.


District participation awards were presented to Joseph Hancock, Zach Doyle, Ethan Holder, Clint Durham, Hunter Nunnally, Corey Richey, Alex Helms, Samantha Blevins, Kellie Beasley, Morgan Penn, Elizabeth Rush, Sarah Saffell, Lindsey Crews, Natasha Brock, Makenly Coles, Paige Otwell, Shelby Whitmire and Stacy Maxwell.

Outstanding track awards were presented to Holder and Rush. The team is coached by Foley.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2018 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476