June 4, 2008 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

WRHS presents top academic honors

Academic honors were presented to Walnut Ridge High School students on May 20 during the Celebration of Excellence.

Stephen Watson and Chelsea Treadway were named the General Excellence Award winners, and Mitchell Thompson and Rachel Looney received the Leadership Award.

The Principal's Leadership Award was presented to Vanessa Oliver, and Rachel Looney and Tyler Meadors were recognized as Scholar Athletes.

Other recognitions included: HOBY, John-Scott Kelley; DAR Good Citizen, Rachel Looney; and Wendy's Heisman Award, Rachel Looney.

Citizenship awards and runners-up were recognized for each grade. They include:

Freshmen ~ winners, Rob Rainwater and Beth Massey; runners-up, Taylor Hicks, Dallin Ginn, Shane Duckworth, Cody Brady, Elyssa Davis, Beth Stormes, Coda Pierce and Ashton Lawson.

Sophomores ~ winners, Logan Bunn and Alivia Hackworth; runners-up, Derek Medlock, Luke Holloway, Heath Kennedy, Curtis Jackson, Regan Jean, ShayLee Lawhon, Emily Holder, Lindsey Walters and Kayla Galbreath.

Juniors ~ winners, Nicholas Dail and Natalea Foster; runners-up, Matt Ryan, Brent Smith, Hunter Moody, Wesley Davis, Rachael Jackson, Carrie Massey, Ashley Harris and Amber Caldwell.

Seniors ~ winners, Matt Hibbs and Cassie Jones; runners-up, Tyler Meadors, Stephen Watson, Alex Hogan, John Phillip Monkus, Jeremy Ragsdell, Janie Walter, Chelsea Treadway and Rachel Looney.

Those honored with the Scholarship Award for having all A's all year were: Beth Massey, freshman; Luke Holloway and John-Scott Kelley, sophmores; Natalea Foster and Hunter Moody, juniors; Jessica Bailey and Cassie Jones, seniors.

Students receiving Top Five honors were as follows:

Freshmen ~ Elyssa Davis, Taylor Hicks, Beth Massey, Rob Rainwater and Sarah Rogers.

Sophmores ~ Luke Holloway, John-Scott Kelley, Logan Gaither, Alivia Hackworth and ShayLee Lawhon.

Juniors ~ Natalea Foster, Amber Caldwell, Brent Smith, Rachael Jackson and Hunter Moody.

Seniors ~ Jessica Bailey, Rachel Looney, Cassie Jones, Tonya Catron and Chelsea Treadway.

Subject awards presented

Other academic awards for the 2007-2008 school year were presented during an academic awards assembly on May 20. They include:

English 9: Tyler Easton, Beth Stormes; runner-up, Chayenne Stayton.

Pre Ap English 9: Rob Rainwater, Beth Massey; runners-up, Taylor Hicks, Sarah Rogers.

English 10: Patrick Hart, Emily Holder; runners-up, Colton Adkisson, Elizabeth Rayner.

Pre AP English 10: Luke Holloway, ShayLee Lawhon; runners-up, John-Scott Kelley, Alivia Hackworth.

English 11: Luke Sharar, Lacey Cobble; runners-up, Derek Sluder, Elizabeth Walker, Chelsey Linebaugh.

AP English 11: Nicholas Dail, Rachael Jackson; runners-up, Brent Smith, Ashley Harris.

English 12: Janie Walter; runner-up, Katelin Cavenaugh.

AP English 12: Jessica Bailey; runner-up, Tonya Catron.

Oral Communication: Colton Adkisson, Cassie Jones; runners-up, Derek Sluder, Matt Ryan, Rachel Looney, Jessica Bailey.

Drama: Colton Adkisson, Coleton Simpson, Vanessa Oliver, Shelly Gibson; runners-up, Kaleb Dodd, Frank Todd, Taylor Wagoner, Amber Abbott.

Journalism: Jessica Bailey; runner-up, Tonya Catron.

Spanish I: Luke Holloway, ShayLee Lawhon; runners-up, John-Scott Kelley, Lindsey Walters.

Spanish II: Hunter Moody, Natalea Foster; runners-up, Brent Smith, Carrie Massey.

Spanish III: Bobby Busby, Cassie Jones; runner-up, Tonya Catron.

Algebra A: Eric Simms.

Algebra I: Dallin Ginn, Mercedes Shouse; runners-up, Tyler Ellison, Morgan Johnson.

Algebra II: Luke Holloway, Yin-Tzu Chang; runners-up, John-Scott Kelley, Lindsey Walters.

Algebraic Connections: Luke Sharar, Elizabeth Walker; runners-up, Tyler Easton, Whitney Ward.

Transition to College Math: Corey Sellers, Chelsea Treadway.

Geometry: Taylor Hicks, Beth Massey; runners-up, Rob Rainwater, Sarah Rogers.

Trig./Pre-Calculus: Luke Holloway, Natalea Foster; runners-up, Nicholas Dail, Amber Caldwell.

AP Calculus: Jessica Bailey; runner-up, Cassie Jones.

Physical Science: Rob Rainwater, Beth Massey; runners-up, Taylor Hicks, Beth Stormes.

Biology: Luke Holloway, Yin-Tzu Chang; runners-up, John-Scott Kelley, ShayLee Lawhon.

AP Biology: John Phillip Monkus, Cassie Jones; runners-up, Tyler Meadors, Janie Watler.

Anatomy: Whitney Stafford-Richmond; runner-up, McKenzie Hanshaw.

Chemistry: Hunter Moody, Amber Caldwell; runners-up, Brent Smith, Natalea Foster.

Physics: John Phillip Monkus, Jessica Bailey.

Civics: Rob Rainwater, Beth Massey; runners-up, Taylor Hicks, Sarah Rogers.

AP Government: John Phillip Monkus, Jessica Bailey; runners-up, Ryan Caldwell, Tonya Catron.

Government: Bobby Busby, Crystal Roacho; runners-up, Matt Hibbs, Teegan Hollister.

U.S. History: Matt Ryan, Chelsey Linebaugh; runners-up, Derek Sluder, Yin-Tzu Chang.

World History: Luke Holloway, Lindsey Walters; runners-up, John-Scott Kelley, Brianna Willfond.

AP U.S. History: Hunter Moody, Rachael Jackson; runners-up, Nicholas Dail, Amber Caldwell.

Geography: Taylor Hicks.

Band: Alex Hogan, Tonya Catron.

Art I: Damien Crays, Catherine Cox; runner-up, Vanessa Brawley.

Art II: Garrett Culbreath, Shadow Simmons; runners-up, Baron Lorance, Lindsey Walters.

Art III: Hunter Moody, Rachael Jackson; runners-up, Brent Smith, Tia Butts.

Art IV: Cassie Jones; runner-up, McKenzie Hanshaw.

Girls Music: Krista Robertson; runners-up, Amber Britton, Cassie Jones.

Boys Music: Preston Drake; runners-up, Patrick Hart, Tyler Meadors.

Physical Education: Dallin Ginn, Elyssa Davis; runners-up, Baron Lorance, Sarah Rogers.

Health: Rob Rainwater, Beth Massey; runners-up, Taylor Hicks, Coda Pierce.

Family and Consumer Science: Beth Stormes; runner-up, Trai White.

Leadership and Service Learning: Brianna Cooper.

Nutrition and Wellness: Beth Massey, Jessica Schultz.

Foods and Nutrition: Tyler Meadors, Katelin Cavenaugh.

Managing Resources: Tyler Meadors, Shelly Gibson.

Parenting: Chayenne Stafford.

Child Development: Brianna Cooper; runner-up, Elizabeth Walker.

Work Experience: Bethany Flack.

Computer Business Applications: Adam Morgan, Vanessa Oliver; runners-up, Logan Bunn, Katelin Cavenaugh.

Desktop Publishing: Nick Dail, Teegan Hollister; runners-up, Daniel Tyler, Sam Knight.

Management: Jeff Humes, Amber Britton, Vanessa Oliver.

AG Science and Technology: Rob Rainwater, ShayLee Lawhon; runners-up, Taylor Hicks, Mercedes Shouse.

AG Mechanics: Preston Drake; runner-up, Derek Medlock.

AG Metals: C.J. Tate, Chayenne Stafford; runner-up, Zach Mullen.

Plant Science: Chris Cross; runner-up, Corey Sellers.

Agriculture Structures: George Bruton, Amber Abbott; runner-up, Corey Sellers.

Leadership and Communications: John-Scott Kelley; runner-up, Derek Medlock.

Turf Grass Management: John-Scott Kelley; runner-up, Matt Ryan.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Games Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory |
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Copyright 2000 ~ 2018 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476