March 12, 2008 Edition

Also in this issue...

News | Sports Scene | Education | Viewpoints | Records |

Filing period closes

Gretchen Hunt

The filing period for the May Preferential Primary ended on Monday at noon and several county offices have more than one candidate. All the filings for countywide offices were Democrats.

Alex A. Latham, incumbent, and Dale Freeman are vying for the position of county judge

Candidates for county sheriff include Dan Ellison, incumbent, and Lewis Slaughter.

For the office of county clerk, incumbent Tina Stowers will face Ashley Forrester.

The remainder of the countywide races are uncontested. Those seeking re-election are Circuit Clerk Michelle Evans, Treasurer Lyda Ann Harris, Tax Collector Stephanie Harris and Tax Assessor Farrah Matthews Reese. In addition, Robert Chris Warden is the only candidate for county coroner.

Two justice of the peace races will be settled in the Democratic primary. Donald Richey, incumbent, faces Jimmie Thatcher in a race for the District 2 position, and incumbent Larry Sexton and Jeff Reese are vying for the District 3 seat.

Other Democrats filing for re-election to JP seats are: Jim Jones, District 1; Douglas Wayland, District 4; Earnest "Junior" Briner, District 5; B.L. "Bob" Smith, District 6; Tracy Moore, District 7; Dean Davis, District 8; and Craig Stone, District 9.

Stone will face a Republican opponent in the November General Election. Lloyd Clark has filed for the position in the Republican Primary.

Those vying for constable seats in the Democratic Primary are: incumbent Charles Cook, Jim Waldrupe and Roger Johson, Boas Township; incumbent Ezra Pierce and Scott DeJarnette, Promised Land Township.

Those filing unopposed for constable on the Democratic ticket include: Jimmy Dean Smith, Black River Township; Sam Burton, Cache Township; Keith Brawley, Campbell Township; Jim King, Duty Township; Shawn M. Green, Marion Township; Andrew Turner, Reed's Creek Strawberry; Steve Bannister, Strawberry Township; and Timothy McComas, Thacker Township.

Democrat J.D. Johnson has filed for constable in the Black Rock Township. In November, he will face incumbent Bryan Smith, who has filed for re-election in the Republican Primary.

Those filing for committeeman include: Patricia E. Whitmire, Democrat; Kimberly Moseley, Larry E. Corbett, Chad Moseley, Kristine Walters, John Allen, Loretta Corbett, Joy Y. Richardson and Everett Shannon, Republicans.

Those filing for delegate are: Patricia E. Whitmire, Democrat; Kimberly Moseley, Larry E. Corbett, Chad Moseley, John Allen, Loretta Corbett, Joy Y. Richardson and Everett Shannon, Republicans.

Click Here for help with The TD Online

Reprints Games

Click for Walnut Ridge Regional, Arkansas Forecast
News | Sports | Education | Viewpoints | Classifieds | Records
Business Directory | Calendar | Community Directory | Obituaries | The Scoreboard
Contact Us | Staff | TD History | Archives | Subscribe Online
Email the Online Editor:
Email the Editor:
Questions? Email:
Hosted by BSC-Net
Copyright 2000 ~ 2014 The Times Dispatch
P.O. Box 389 ~ Walnut Ridge, Arkansas 72476

Word Scramble


Word Scramble Cross-Browser JavaScript, Author: Richard Hucko (RHUCKO1), Web Site:, Category: Games, Browsers: All Newer Browsers
  Local Line Ads
Create lasting memories ...
Order reprints or merchandise featuring original TD photos.

Printing available.
Call The TD for business cards, letterhead, invitations, note cards, more. 870-886-2464

Full online edition -
just a click away!

Read full editions of The Times Dispatch online.

Advertise in The Times Dispatch
Call Janice or Shantelle today! 870-886-2464

Reach more people online
Expand your advertising efforts on The Times Dispatch online. 886-2464